Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Peace and Possibility


   Today, I asked myself

   Is peace on earth possible?

   And my first thought,

   My first response,

   That gut answer,

   Which is all too telling,

   Was no.




   Maybe, I’m a realist.

   Maybe, I’m a pessimist.

   Or, maybe dreaming of peace

   Seems too closely related to

   Disparaging the suffering

   That so many endure

   Amid violent realities.




   Today, I asked myself

   Is peace on earth possible?

   And that question

   May be naïve,

   But inside it lies another one,

   That is,

   Can we dream?




   Can we dream of a peace

   So incredible

   That it stretches across

   The whole world?

   And is that not what God desires,

   As expressed in

   God’s living word.




   If I ask myself

   Is peace on earth possible?

   And find a way to dream

   And say yes,

   My actions become

   More hopeful

   And point that incredible end.




   God, help me believe

   Peace is possible

   Not only on a small scale

   But a grand one.

   And may my actions and

   The actions of others

   Shine forth with incredible hope.
