Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Daily Examen

God of Peace and Joy, I’m grateful for sunny skies and opportunities to rest. Divine Teacher, who guides me throughout my day, I give you thanks for the opportunity to hear different perspectives and stories.

Thank you for opportunities to read, listen, and to think. Thank you for friends and friendly acquaintances—other thinking people. God, I am grateful for those people that I listened to, talked to, or thought of today.

This sense of gratitude brings a sense of inner peace and connectedness to you, O God. Yet, the stories and questions I heard today leave me with some feelings of doubt and inadequacy. I am full of emotions that are somewhat at odds, but coexist in this moment, hour, and day.

But in this moment, God, I am reminded of joy, as I think of my morning commute and my friend with whom I shared that travel time. We had not planned to travel together. It just happened that way, and I am so glad that we started the day with that shared experience.

And now God, I turn my thoughts to the way I might start the day tomorrow. My day will undoubtedly be different from today; however, your presence will remain. May I be mindful of your presence and intentional in all my endeavors, so that I extend your spirit of love to others.

I pray this in your name. Amen.

For more information about this form of praying, which is attributed to St. Ignatius of Loyola, visit http://www.ignatianspirituality.com/ignatian-prayer/the-examen/how-can-i-pray/

