Tags

, , , , , ,

In 2 Timothy 4:2 Paul urges us to proclaim the message; be persistent whether the time is favorable or unfavorable; convince, rebuke, and encourage, with the utmost patience in teaching.

I read, proclaim the message, and I admit that I too often shy away from opportunities to share my faith with others. I fear that I will be misperceived, or I question whether I have the time and the words to truly convey my convictions. Then I read, be persistent whether the time is favorable or unfavorable and my reasons and justification appear as mere excuses that do not hold up.

I confess, dear God, that I have missed opportunities to share your goodness in word and deed. I have lacked the confidence to proclaim; and God, I have certainly lacked persistence and patience too.

Please forgive me. I ask for your help…that these words be a reminder, which I can carry with me as I move forward this week.

I pray the words of the hymnist, God, please tune my heart to sing thy grace in all that I do. Yes! In all that I do.

In your name, Amen.

Quotations from 2 Timothy 4:2 NRSV, and “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” (Robert Robinson (1735-1790)

