Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Surely, this commandment that I am commanding you today is not too hard for you, nor is it too far away. It is not in heaven, that you should say, ‘Who will go up to heaven for us, and get it for us so that we may hear it and observe it?’ Neither is it beyond the sea, that you should say, ‘Who will cross to the other side of the sea for us, and get it for us so that we may hear it and observe it?’ No, the word is very near to you; it is in your mouth and in your heart for you to observe.”

–Deuteronomy 30:11-14 NRSV

In a world full of pain, hardship, stress, busyness, fear, and temptation, I hold onto the hope that I do not need to travel great distance or ascend to heaven to hear and observe the word of our most gracious Lord.

I rejoice, that God’s word is near. The word is very near—in my mouth, and in my heart for me to observe. The word is very near… and God, you are here, and you are near to me today.

O God, music of my soul
Pulse through my veins
Source and subject of my awe
 
Today, I greeted your beauty
In the rays of sunlight shining through chapel windows
In warm and joyful greetings from friends
In faces illumined with laughter
 
Today, I felt sincerest gratitude
For the kindness I witnessed
For the inspiration within
And for the Scripture read aloud
 
But God, you don’t always feel so near
Sometimes it is difficult to remember your truth and your light in this world
So often I forget to do my part as well
 
Please help me sense your word within
And see your good presence in this world
Please help me do my part
For your sake, Holy One
 
Amen
