Tags

, ,

On the day of the prayer service I practiced praying aloud despite my nerves. I often battled concerned thoughts and nervous energy during my high school years.  I was nervous, but I was also willing.  Ultimately, I wanted to triumph, not cower.

A call to generosity in 2 Corinthians encouraged me on so many occasions.  In this passage Paul reminds the people of Corinth that Jesus gave so generously. “For our sakes, He became poor” (v. 8, 9).  He offered parables and lessons, prayers, miracles, time, and energy!  He sacrifice His life for us!  Jesus gave with incredible generosity and willingness, and Paul urges the Corinthians to do likewise.  He writes, “For if there is first a willing mind, it is accepted according to what one has, and not according to what he does not have” (2 Corinthians 8:12, NKJV).

On that sunny day of prayer, my nerves may have temporarily diverted my focus from the prayerful offerings of others, but I believe God saw my willingness to pray aloud and forgave my inattentiveness

.

