Tags

, , ,

Why take on just one positive practice, wouldn’t I be that much holier if I took on two, three, or four spiritual practices?

It’s a tempting thought, but in my experience, taking on too many practices results in a mind fixed on schedules and achievement rather than God.

“For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart” (1 Samuel 16:7b NKJV).

The Lord looks at the heart.  What does my heart look like, anyway?

Lord God, as I walk with You this day, please help me see the thoughts, words, and actions that taint my heart.  Please, “Create in me a clean heart, O God ,and put a new and right spirit within me. Do not cast me away from your presence, and do not take your holy spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and sustain in me a willing spirit” (Psalm 51:10-12, NRSV) In your precious and holy name…Amen.

