Tags

, ,

Photo on 9-15-13 at 2.21 PMI can’t get anything done when my cat plants herself on my lap.  She never finds a position that allows for free range of my hands. When this determined feline purrs, begs for attention, and peacefully curls up on my books or computer keyboard, I must evaluate whether I can afford to take a break or whether I must repeatedly nudge her away and relocate to work. Oftentimes, I decide that I can take a break (for a few minutes anyway).

When my cat, Meg, puts her paws on my work I more consciously consider how I’m spending my time and energy. Then I wonder: if I can spare the time to take a break to give my cat some attention, surely I can find time to rest in God’s presence. Rest is Biblical. God commands His people to set aside time for rest.

“Observe the Sabbath day, to keep it holy, as the Lord your God commanded you. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the Lord your God. In it you shall do no work”  (Dt. 5:12-14a, NKJV).

